Magnet Zappers

All About The Tools In Our Hobby
Product Reviews & Advice From Advanced Enthusiasts

Magnet Zappers

Postby Cosmic Bilby » Fri Dec 21, 2012 7:54 pm

G'day Guys,

Am after some info on magnet zappers, I was wondering what brands etc are out there and what would people recommend.

I'm after affordable/decent quality, would like to use it for home racing slot car motors (preferably be able to do Mabuchi's without pulling them apart).

Also have the capacity to do up to 16D size motors....

Would greatly appreciate any advice as I am new to this :)
Cosmic Bilby
HRW SlotCar Veteran!

Re: Magnet Zappers

Postby HomeRacingWorld » Fri Dec 21, 2012 8:14 pm

Remember that it won't increase a magnet's power. It will only "restore" it to it's original maximum potential.

Good luck hot rod.
HomeRacingWorld
HRW Janitor

Postby Florida_Slotter » Fri Dec 21, 2012 8:46 pm

Cosmic,

I have read much about zappers. As a matter of fact I own one. Back in the days when I was racing Wing Cars with Group-12 motors, it was necessary to have one, usually in your pit area at the racetrack. Nothing like a quick tear down, re-zap, fresh brushes and such between the end of practice and the start of the race!

Unless you buy one of those super large zappers, you are going to need to do a tear down on the motor. I have one from RGEO Products that will handle up to a 16D sized motor in the well. I use a 'slug' inside the motor to allow for a full zapping of the magnets.

If you are serious about high horsepower, I totally suggest getting a magnet zapper.

Hopefully this will help.
Florida_Slotter
Scratch Build Guru

Postby waaytoomuchintothis » Fri Dec 21, 2012 10:07 pm

I repaired a zapper for a guy a few years ago. I tested it to make sure it worked, and was unimpressed. I wouldn't pay more than $40 for one, if I wanted it, and I could care less about having it.

waaytoomuchintothis
"Seasoned SlotRacer"

Postby Cosmic Bilby » Sat Dec 22, 2012 12:31 am

Thanks H!