River Hills Raceway - Lancaster Pa - Build Log - Updated 2/3

Got Wood?
Your ROUTED TRACK Home!
Share Your Designs, Building Techniques & Finished Layouts!

River Hills Raceway - Lancaster Pa - Build Log - Updated 2/3

Postby cobratroy » Mon May 13, 2013 1:36 pm

Hey guys,

I've been quietly working on my track in my basement for the past year. I'm finally going to post some photos of the build. Building this track is a slow process. I'm new to this, so I'm slow! Working, spending time with my wife, raising three kids and their activities, takes most of my time. I only get a few hours a week to work on the track.

Here's the track specs:

Lane 1 = 72.2655 feet
Lane 2 = 72.2657 feet
Lane 3 = 72.2655 feet

Elevation changes = 0" to 27"

Specs:
- 3 Bridges
- 1/2" MDF Roadbed
- Copper Tape Lanes
- 3 Power Taps
- DC Power
- Trackmate Timing System

Last edited by cobratroy on Wed Feb 03, 2016 7:45 am, edited 5 times in total.
cobratroy

River Hills Raceway - Lancaster Pa - Build Log

Postby cobratroy » Mon May 13, 2013 1:50 pm

Our home is a 140-year-old farmhouse in the "river hills" area of Lancaster, Pa.
We had to get the basement into shape. First we repointed all the stone on the foundation of the house. Then put new legs and a new paint job on the oil tanks before I could even start building the track. Access to the oil tanks is going to be a little harder in the future. :D

Helper 1

Helper 2 - Both are very helpful in keeping wood from floating away. :D

Baseframes

I added panels around the baseframe to allow storage under the track. I have a few panels and doors to add yet.
Last edited by cobratroy on Wed Jan 06, 2016 8:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
cobratroy

Re: River Hills Raceway - Lancaster Pa - Build Log

Postby Wolseley Hornet » Mon May 13, 2013 1:57 pm

Gosh, you're patient . . . all that tidy carpentry and you've got that brilliant plan gnawing away at your mind the whole time.