Total Newbie Question

Friendly, Off Topic Chatter

Total Newbie Question

Postby Feldman » Sat Feb 23, 2013 7:49 am

I am a total Newbie. I got hooked after meeting with Carrera last week at the New York Toy Fair. I do have some questions, What size is the most common? For home track should Igo with HO or something larger? What is the difference between Digital and analog? Anything else I need to know? I really enjoy reading through here and look forward to the help!
Feldman

Re: Total Newbie Question

Postby RazorJon » Sat Feb 23, 2013 8:44 am

Hi Feldman
and welcome

Size is up to you, Carrera makes the biggest track with the most options and you can run any car on thier track

the dif. in digi or analog is with digi you can race up to 6 cars on a 2 lane track with special lane changers, and analog you just race 1 car in a lane

everything else you need to know is here on HRW, MORE GUYS WILL CHIME IN BUT I AM OFF TO THE RACES :banana-rock:
RazorJon
Tire Razor Guy

Postby DHansen » Sat Feb 23, 2013 9:08 am

If I was to do it all over again I would go with Carrera 1/32 scale. You can race there 1/24 scale, 1/32 scale, and there 1/43 scale cars on the same track. You can go with analog or digital with the flip of a switch on the bottom of there cars. [except 1/43scale is only analog I beleive]. You can all so set up a 4 lane or a 2 lane track. And they have kept there prices fairly reasanable. It all depends on how much room you have to dedicate to your new found hobby. An extra bed room or family room would work just fine. My track is set up in my living room, but then I'm single so I have the hole house to decorate anyway I like, and I like cars.
DHansen
HRW SlotCar Veteran!

Postby TsgtRet » Sat Feb 23, 2013 9:12 am

:text-welcomewave: