resin body paint

Custom Paint Job Showcase
From Decals To Painting Techniques - We Have You Covered!

resin body paint

Postby rjdadrf@yahoo.com » Mon Oct 07, 2019 8:39 pm

I am having problems with paint on my resin bodies.
the paint never seems to dry.
I clean and dry my bodies with a good cleaner.
I use testors paint on my bodies.
I let the pint dry for about a week before I try to mount any parts
.the paint always seems to be tacky to the touch.

any help would be very nice
thanks
rjdadrf@yahoo.com

Re: resin body paint

Postby RichD » Tue Oct 08, 2019 10:18 am

Testors now has both enamel and lacquer paint, I have been using the enamel for many years and not had any drying problems with either resin or regular injection molded styrene bodies. Testors only sells clear lacquer, so I top off my paint jobs with that, but to be safe I first coat decals with a water based clear, like Future. Getting back to your drying problem never spray solvent based paint when it is very humid, water will get trapped in the paint and it may take a very long time to dry. I have a dehumidifier and a humidity gauge in the area where I paint, I make sure that the humidity is under 30%, but even lower is probably better.
I give a raw body one coat of primer and wait 15-30 minutes before I put on a color coat, a second color coat goes on 15-30 minutes after that. If any masking needs to be applied I let the body dry overnight first. In some cases a second color might be applied using the same routine as before. If any masking needs to be removed I do that while the paint is still a little tacky. Once again I like to let things dry overnight or for at least eight hours before I apply decals.

RichD
HRW SlotCar Veteran!

Postby waaytoomuchintothis » Tue Oct 08, 2019 2:01 pm